Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Library is open 9‑5 Monday‑Friday for pick-ups and returns only .       Log In to Your Account     Facebook
Privileges and Policies    |    Using the Copy Machines    |    Instructions for Adding Money to Your ID Card

The Peter Jay Sharp Library

Free Stuff on the Web

Library of Congress Digital Collections
Vast collections of unique materials in various media.

Art Song Central
"Art Song Central is principally an archive and directory of free, printable sheet music for singers and voice teachers. An emphasis is placed on standard classical and traditional repertoire."

baroquemusic.it
"The archive collects modern edition of sheet music from the 17:th and 18:th century, many of them not available in any other modern form, transcribed from original printed or handwritten sources."

Chopin Early Editions
University of Chicago
"The Chopin collection at the University of Chicago Library includes over 400 first and early printed editions of musical compositions by Frédéric Chopin, maintained in the Special Collections Research Center. Because Chopin's works were often published concurrently in several countries with variant texts, scholars can establish a sequence of publication by comparing a range of printings"

The Choral Public Domain Library (CDPL)
"Begun in December 1998, CPDL is one of the world's largest free sheet music sites. You can use CPDL to find scores, texts, translations, and information about composers."

The Clarinet Institute of Los Angeles
"One of our services to the music community is the retrieval of public domain classical sheet music and putting it online FREE for the public."

The Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music
"This website is a portal to worldwide collections of medieval polyphonic music manuscripts (the resource does not include plainchant). The music and the manuscripts date from approx 800 to 1550, and the original documents are kept in libraries and archives around the globe."

Digital Resources for Musicology
"Digitized Music Manuscripts -- Digital Score Reprints -- Repertory- and Genre-Based Projects -- Structured Databases -- Portals and Search Engines for Music -- Resources for Music Theory -- Historical Audio and Video - Historical Maps -- Early Newspapers -- Music Magazines -- Large Humanities Text Corpora -- Image Banks."

La Folia: a Musical Cathedral
"An effort to list all derivations and interpretations of the famous theme La Folia." Sheet music and midi files.

Google Print
"The world's libraries are a tremendous source of knowledge, much of which has never been available online. One of our goals for Google Print is to change that, and today we've taken an exciting step toward meeting it: making available a number of public domain books that were never subject to copyright or whose copyright has expired. We can show every page because these books are in the public domain. (For books not in the public domain we only show small snippets of the work unless the publisher or copyright holder has given us permission to show more.) "

The Harpsichord Music of Antonio Soler
Scores and midi files.

IMSLP (Petrucci Music Library)
"Welcome to the Petrucci Music Library! Our goal is to create a virtual library containing all public domain music scores and/or sheet music, as well as scores from composers who are willing to share their music with the world without charge."

The Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music
John Hopkins University
"The Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music is part of Special Collections at the Milton S. Eisenhower Library of The Johns Hopkins University. It contains over 29,000 pieces of music and focuses on popular American music spanning the period 1780 to 1960. All pieces of the collection are indexed on this site and a search will retrieve a catalog description of the pieces. An image of the cover and each page of music will also be retrieved if the music was published before 1923 and is in the public domain."

The Ruth Dana Collection of Liszt editions
PDF versions of scores at the Juilliard School.

The Jean-Baptiste Lully Collection
University of North Texas
"The University of North Texas Music Library's Jean-Baptiste Lully Collection includes almost 30 rare 17th- and 18th-century scores of operas and ballets by the 17th-century French composer Jean-Baptiste Lully and his sons. Many of the volumes are 1st editions printed by Christophe Ballard, who held the privelège for music printing under King Louis XIV. Several are 2nd editions, printed by Henri de Baussen or Jean-Baptiste Christophe Ballard. The Collection also contains manuscript copies of operas and one ballet that were probably offered for sale, like the prints, at performances."

Neue Mozart-Ausgabe Online (NMA Online)
"The digitized version offers the musical text and the critical commentaries of the entire Neue Mozart-Ausgabe, edited by the Internationale Stiftung Mozart in cooperation with the Mozart cities of Augsburg, Salzburg, and Vienna. The printed edition has been published by Bärenreiter-Verlag (www.mozart-portal.de and www.baerenreiter.com). Some restrictions apply to the reproduction of images of source materials, particularly in the supplement to the edition."

OCVE: Online Chopin Variorum Edition
OCVE provides digital images of the manuscripts and first editions of select works by the Polish composer Fryderyk Chopin. Its principal aim is to facilitate and enhance comparative analysis of these primary sources, attaining a degree of flexibility beyond that of extant printed editions of Chopin’s music and indeed of any composer to date. Users are guided in their consultation of the sources by the background information and sample ‘critical commentaries’ provided by the project team. The end result is a new type of ‘musical edition’, one that users themselves construct dynamically and interactively.

The Open Library
"Books are scanned and then offered in an easy-to-use interface for free reading online. If they're in the public domain, the books can be downloaded, shared and printed for free. They can also be printed for a nominal fee by a third party, who will bind and mail the book to you. The books are always FREE to read at the Open Library website.
The Internet Archive offers all media: text, audio, moving images, web content and even software for public use."

Orchestral Horn Excerpts
"For this project I have chosen 46 of the most frequently requested works on orchestral horn auditions ... and reproduced the standard excerpts taken from the original parts ... I have attempted to include as many of the important passages of each work as possible ... The most important and unique feature of this website is the collection of multiple audio recordings of each excerpt.

Project Gutenberg
"There are 19,000 free books in the Project Gutenberg Online Book Catalog...The Project Gutenberg Sheet Music Project is devoted to digitizing musical scores for a variety of uses. Most scores so far have been chamber music by composers such as Mozart and Beethoven. This document is to give a brief overview of what is needed to digitize a new score for the Project Gutenberg collection."

Sheet Music Consortium
University of California, Los Angeles; Indiana University; Johns Hopkins University; Duke University
"The Sheet Music Consortium is a group of libraries working toward the goal of building an open collection of digitized sheet music."

The Sheet Music Archive
"Over 22,000 classical music pieces."

SheetMusicFox
"The only [sic!] website dedicated to bringing you completely free public domain sheet music."

Charles R. Templeton Ragtime Sheet Music Collection
Mississippi State University
"The sheet music collection of almost 22,000 pieces includes popular tunes dating as far back as 1865."

Tomás Luis de Victoria
Facsimiles and scores of works by Victoria and others.

UbuWeb
"UbuWeb is a completely independent resource dedicated to all strains of the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts." MP3 files, films, print, etc.

UR Research
Sibley Music Library, Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester
"Scores and books in the public domain. Many of these are unique to the Sibley Music Library collection." Printer-friendly pdf files.

These allow you to print blank manuscript paper in a variety of formats:
dolmetsch online
A huge number of preformatted styles to choose from.
incompetech.org
Design the paper yourself to meet your specific needs.
Customize, generate, and print a pdf.
Staff Paper Generator
Simpler than the two above. Be sure to use the print button on the website, not the one on your browser.

The Manhattan School of Music The Peter Jay Sharp Library 130 Claremont Avenue New York, NY 10027 USA