Skip to Main Content newdropdown newmenu
MSM Logo Library Name

Cultural Inclusion: A List of Resources

Cultural Inclusion: A List of Resources

https://library.msmnyc.edu/screens/small_m.png indicates a resource exclusive to the MSM community. A login is probably required off-campus, but check the instructions for details.
https://library.msmnyc.edu/screens/www_vector_icon_blue_earth.jpg indicates a web resource open to anybody.

African American Art Song Alliance WWW blue earth
"Founded in 1997, this is the home of interchange between performers and scholars interested in art song by African-American composers. Here you will find information and links to assist with your discovery of our contribution to song."

African-American Composers (Wikipedia) WWW blue earth
Includes links to subcategories: African-American female composers‎ African-American male composers‎ African-American classical composers‎ African-American film score composers‎ African-American jazz composers‎.

African Diaspora Music Project WWW blue earth
ADMP
Dr. Louise Toppin
Videmus
"This phase of the project focuses on the art song (other genres will follow) and delivers a searchable online database and printed book (release to follow) that organizes more than 2000 entries to help further the study of this neglected repertoire. The project will continue to evolve as new entries are created, and additional media & supporting materials are added in the near future for each entry. The database is organized and searchable by several fields e.g. composer, title of work, cycle, publisher, and poet. You can also search specifically for women composers, spirituals or search by pre-assigned stylistic periods. In addition, each record includes the key, range, date of composition, the presence of dialect, and notes about the composition such as dedications or first performances. If a work appears in more than one collection, citations are given to help researchers find any of the collections for a particular work."

AfriClassical.com WWW blue earth
"Here you will meet 52 composers, conductors and instrumental performers - Africans, African Americans and Afro-Europeans.”

American Composers Alliance: Music by Black Composers WWW blue earth
ACA
A list of works by Black composers that are published by the American Composers Alliance.

Anti-Racist Music Theory Examples WWW blue earth
"The goal here is to assemble a repository of examples by composers of color for use in the theory and aural skills curriculum. Feel free to add examples under any of the existing topics, or to add other relevant topics wherever you see fit."

Art Song Central WWW blue earth
Art Song Central "Art Song Central is principally an archive and directory of free, printable sheet music for singers and voice teachers. An emphasis is placed on standard classical and traditional repertoire."

Boulanger Initiative Database: Redefining the Canon WWW blue earth
Redefining the Canon is an unprecedented initiative which aims to update the most widely-used orchestral audition excerpts to include excerpts by historically underrepresented composers.

Center for Black Music Research WWW blue earth
Columbia College Chicago
CBMR
"Center for Black Music Research (CBMR) holds collections highlighting the role of black music in world culture with materials originating or representing black music in the United States, Africa, Europe, Latin America, and the Caribbean in a variety of formats: personal papers, scores, sheet music, audio-visual materials, photographs, books, periodicals, and commercial recordings."

Choral Music of Black Composers WWW blue earth
Beyond Elijah Rock: The Non-Idiomatic Choral Music of Black Composers
"The following spreadsheet is a working list of the non-idiomatic choral music of black composers. In no way is it meant to be an exhaustive list. However, it serves to provide a starting point. Regular updates will be made. Non-idiomatic, as it relates to black composers, refers to the original concert music that is not part of the traditional idiomatic canon associated with black musicians. That canon includes spirituals, gospel, jazz, hip-hop, and rap among others. There will be pieces that may be based on spirituals or gospel tunes but are, at their core, original songs similar to ones that use chorale tunes in cantatas and popular songs parodied in Renaissance masses. This list does not include arrangements of existing material such as hymns or other folk songs. Available tabs at the bottom of the list are Full List, SATB, SSAA, TTBB, Other Voices, Unaccompanied, Accompanied, and Choral-Orchestral."

Composer Diversity Database WWW blue earth
Institute for Composer Diversity State University of New York at Fredonia
SUNY Fredonia
"Our Composer Diversity Database allows users to discover over 4000 composers of historically underrepresented genders, racial, ethnic, and cultural heritages, and sexual orientations. You can search by composer name, living or deceased, common large and small ensemble genres, racial, ethnic, or cultural demographics, and by location (city, state, and country)."

Composers Diversity Collective WWW blue earth
Institute for Composer Diversity State University of New York at Fredonia
SUNY Fredonia
"Our mission: 1) To increase our visibility to industry producers and creatives via networking opportunities and performances. 2) To offer education and mentorship to emerging composers in underserved communities. 3) To service the community through music.
"Our vision: We exist to eliminate the industry’s challenge to find culturally diverse music creators, music supervisors, sound engineers and musicians, to increase our own awareness of each other, and to dispel misconceptions about the stylistic range of any minority composer."

Composers Equity Project WWW blue earth
Chamber Music America
"A database of ALAANA, women, and gender non-conforming composers. Chamber Music America uses the acronym ALAANA to indicate composers who identify as African/Black, Latinx, Asian/South Asian, Arab/Middle Eastern, and Native American."

Database of Recorded American Music Small white M on red field, for the A-Z Guide.
DRAM
"A scholarly resource of recordings, including CD quality audio, liner notes and essays from New World, Composers Recordings (formerly CRI), and other important labels."

Every Noise at Once WWW blue earth
"Every Noise at Once is an ongoing attempt at an algorithmically-generated, readability-adjusted scatter-plot of the musical genre-space, based on data tracked and analyzed for 6,082 genre-shaped distinctions by Spotify as of 2023-04-07."

Explore Music by Black Composers WWW blue earth
Theodore Front
A list of composers and works available for sale from Theodore Front.

Explore Music by Latin Composers WWW blue earth
Theodore Front
A list of composers and works available for sale from Theodore Front.

Institute for Composer Diversity WWW blue earth
"ICD wants to provide the music community with works by underrepresented composers that you can incorporate quickly and directly into your repertoire. These lists are neither exhaustive nor comprehensive, but are a representative sampling of the works for each instrument or ensemble from a particular community of composers. We have chosen to begin our Spotlight initiative by featuring works by Black composers."

Latin Orchestral Music: An Online Catalog WWW blue earth
Miguel Harth-Bedoya
Andrés F. Jaime
"Vision: To provide a single, complete, and comprehensive online catalog that contains orchestral music from Latin America and the Caribbean, and to make it accessible to conductors, music directors, music administrators, librarians, students, teachers, researchers, and music lovers in general. This online catalog contains over 9,000 original orchestral works by over 1,600 composers from 24 countries and territories of Latin America and the Caribbean, and serves as a bridge between the music and the composers or publishers."

League of American Composers: Racial/Ethnic and Gender Diversity in the Orchestra Field WWW blue earth
Racial/Ethnic and Gender Diversity in the Orchestra Field Forty Years of Fellowships: A Study of Orchestras' Efforts to Include African American and Latino Musicians Of and For the Community
"Both reports offer insights based on rigorous data and careful methodologies. Racial/Ethnic and Gender Diversity in the Orchestra Field uses longitudinal data – going back nearly 40 years in some cases – to identify trends and to ultimately establish a baseline of where we stand today. Forty Years of Fellowships also looks back – examining the efficacy of one of the field's most common strategies for addressing the homogeneity of the musicians who play on stage – while looking forward: Forty Years of Fellowships contains a number of recommendations that could be used to strengthen not only fellowship programs but diversity efforts of all kinds."

Lester S. Levy Sheet Music Collection WWW blue earth
Milton S. Eisenhower Library
"The collection spans the years 1780 to 1980, but its strength is its thorough documentation of nineteenth-century America through popular music."

Library of Congress Digital Collections WWW blue earth
LOC
A vast collections of unique materials in various media.

MOLA: Resources of Underrepresented Composers WWW blue earth
A list of resources from the Major Orchestra Librarians' Association, Inc.

MSM Library catalog WWW blue earth
Look up as a subject:

Music by Black Composers WWW blue earth
MCB
Rachel Barton Pine Foundation
#BlackLivesMatter
"Music by Black Composers (MBC) was founded in 2001 as a project of the Rachel Barton Pine Foundation, a long-standing, anti-racist organization in classical music. MBC’s mission is to help rectify historic and ongoing racial injustices in the classical music sphere.
"Together with our nation, we grieve with the family of George Floyd, and all those in the Black community who suffer at the hand of racial injustice.
"We also stand in solidarity with those courageously demonstrating on behalf of justice and social reform in our country.
"and, as always,
#BlackisClassical"

Music Periodicals Database Small white M on red field, for the A-Z Guide.
MPD
Formerly called: International Index of Music Periodicals (IIMP)
More than half a million indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to current, covering the scholarly to the popular.

Naxos Music Library: Jazz Small white M on red field, for the A-Z Guide.
NML
"Naxos Music Library Jazz offers a wide range of jazz music, from jazz legends to contemporary jazz. Recordings of over 32,000 artists are represented."

New Music USA WWW blue earth
NewMusicUSA
Archive of articles about diversity and cultural inclusion.

Orchestral Music by Women of African Descent WWW blue earth
Women's Philharmonic Repertoire by Women Composers

Piano Music by Asian Composers WWW blue earth
A list of repertoire prepared by Dr. Lisa Yui, with links to the MSM catalog.

Piano Solo Works by African-American Composers and Latin Composers Influenced by Afro-Caribbean Idioms WWW blue earth
Suggested repertoire by Anthony De Mare.

Resources for Diversity in Early Music Repertoire WWW blue earth
Early Music America
EMA

A Seat at the Piano: Promoting Inclusion in Piano Repertoire WWW blue earth
ASAPiano
A Google Doc that lists pieces by duration, level of difficulty, living or not, female, non-binary, Black/African diaspora, Latinx, Native/Indigenous, East/South/SE/W Asian, Middle Eastern, Australian.

Social Justice Song Index WWW blue earth
Paul C. Gorski Equity Literacy Institute
"Race and Racism songs."

UbuWeb WWW blue earth
"Founded in 1996, UbuWeb is a pirate shadow library consisting of hundreds of thousands of freely downloadable avant-garde artifacts. By the letter of the law, the site is questionable; we openly violate copyright norms and almost never ask for permission. Most everything on the site is pilfered, ripped, and swiped from other places, then reposted. We’ve never been sued—never even come close. UbuWeb functions on no money—we don’t take it, we don’t pay it, we don’t touch it; you’ll never find an advertisement, a logo, or a donation box. We’ve never applied for a grant or accepted a sponsorship; we remain happily unaffiliated, keeping us free and clean, allowing us to do what we want to do, the way we want to do it. Most important, UbuWeb has always been and will always be free and open to all: there are no memberships or passwords required. All labor is volunteered; our server space and bandwidth are donated by a likeminded group of intellectual custodians who believe in free access to knowledge. A gift economy of plentitude with a strong emphasis on global education, UbuWeb is visited daily by tens of thousands of people from every continent. We’re on numerous syllabuses, ranging from those for kindergarteners studying pattern poetry to those for postgraduates listening to hours of Jacques Lacan’s Séminaires. When the site goes down from time to time, as most sites do, we’re inundated by emails from panicked faculty wondering how they are going to teach their courses that week. "The site is filled with the detritus and ephemera of great artists better known for other things—the music of Jean Dubuffet, the poetry of Dan Graham, the hip-hop of Jean-Michel Basquiat, the punk rock of Martin Kippenberger, the films of John Lennon, the radio plays of Ulrike Meinhof, the symphonies of Hanne Darboven, the country music of Julian Schnabel—most of which were originally put out in tiny editions, were critically ignored, and quickly vanished. However, the web provides the perfect place to restage these works. With video, sound, and text remaining more faithful to the original experience than, say, painting or sculpture, Ubu proposes a different sort of revisionist art history based on the peripheries of artistic production rather than on the perceived, hyped, or market-based center."

Woodwind Music for the Cultural Inclusion Initiative WWW blue earth
A list of works performed by MSM students that fulfill the requirements of the School's Cultural Inclusion Initiative.