Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Library is open 9‑5 Monday‑Friday for pick-ups and returns only .       Log In to Your Account     Facebook
Privileges and Policies    |    Using the Copy Machines    |    Instructions for Adding Money to Your ID Card

Resources for Singers: Resources for Singers

Resources for Singers

Singers' Shelf. Located one aisle behind the reference desk (at the end of the reference books), this section includes books of texts, translations, and phonetic transcriptions for songs and arias.

General
Nico Castel's books (these are also included in the "Phonetic transcriptions" search listed just below)
Diction
Phonetic transcriptions of songs, arias, and complete operas
Training, auditions
Vocal terminology
Vocational guidance

Song
Popular song
Song interpretation
Song texts and translations
Studies of art songs by individual composers

Opera
Dictionaries and encyclopedias
General histories and annals
Librettos and translations
Plot synopses
Studies of operas (except Wagner's)
Studies of Wagner's operas

More Books

Browse Scores

A selective listing of sites that have come to our attention.

Appcompanist
"Appcompanist gives classical and musical theater singers and voice teachers full control over the world's best accompaniment."

Aria Database
"The Aria Database is a diverse collection of information on over 1000 operatic arias. Designed for singers and non-singers alike, the database includes translations and aria texts of most arias as well as a collection of MIDI files of operatic arias and ensembles. Fach,

Centro Studi Giacomo Puccini

Fondazione G. Rossini

Google Translate
Translate words, paragraphs, or entire Web pages. See also BabelFish.

International Phonetic Alphabet (Wikipedia article)

The International Phonetic Association

IPASource.com
"Home for accurate word-for-word translations of songs, arias, and operas with International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions in the user-friendly PDF format. It is all free for your private use." Free via the MSM Library subscription.

Istituto di Studi Verdiani

The LiederNet Archive
"The LiederNet Archive is the world’s largest reference archive of texts and translations of art songs and choral works. We have been online since May 24, 1995. 156,564 vocal pieces have been catalogued. 35,392 translations are available."

The Metropolitan Opera Archives Database
Who sang what and when at the Met. Updated five days a week.

Opera Glass
Good launching point for finding Web resources for singers.

Opera -L
A very lively listserv with thousands of subscribers.

Opera Liber: biblioteca digitale dell libretto d'opera
"Opera Liber è il portale per la documentazione e lo studio della librettistica italiana nel periodo tra il 1870 e il 1920." Full text of some opera libretti; Italian-language only.

Operabase
"Operabase has documented operatic activity worldwide since 1996, with over 155,000 performances on file. It records the work of artists in over 600 theatres, and publishes season information to opera-goers in 7 languages."

Parterre Box
"Parterre box is an ezine devoted to opera, about which it cultivates a campy, critical, strongly opinionated attitude with explicit gay overtones. parterre box was founded by the New Yorker James Jorden in the mid 1990s during a period of under-employment as an opera director. It appeared for a number of years in print form, but now it is solely published on the Web, where it is considered an influential opera blog."--Wikipedia

The Poetry Archive
"The world's premier online collection of recordings of poets reading their work."

Public-Domain Opera Libretti and Other Vocal Texts
Free access to libretti and song texts

SingersBabel
"SingersBabel offers tools to help you learn the meaning and pronunciation of texts found in oratorios, secular and sacred choral music, cantatas, art songs, and song cycles. Hear a native speaker reciting the text while seeing the original text, word-for-word translation, and International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) Guide in the BabelGuide."

Televised Opera and Musical Comedy Database
"Developed in association with the Indiana University Digital Library Program, the Televised Opera and Musical Comedy Database documents more than a half-century of opera, operetta, and musical comedy telecasts produced in the United States. The database traces performance programming from early live presentations on experimental TV stations, to contemporary productions released on broadcast television, various cable forms, and home video."

Zarzuela!
Information on its history, composers, singers, as well as synopses, texts, and translations for many zarzuelas.

The Manhattan School of Music The Peter Jay Sharp Library 130 Claremont Avenue New York, NY 10027 USA